Grignolino [Gree-nyoh-LEE-noh]

Although I might know a few Italian grapes and some Italian words, the first time I read the word “grignolino” on Twitter, I had no idea what this word meant, and really no idea it could be a grape. I love the name of the grape, and start reading on it. The name grignolino, probably derives  from the the word “grignole” which is Asti dialect for pips, because grignolino has a quite a lot of seeds.

The description of the grape” anarchist, individualist, a bit foolish and stubborn”, sounded to me like it must be a very interesting grape , it sounds almost human.

This, low yield,  late ripening red grape variety, mostly planted in Piemonte, near Asti, is known for its fruity aromas. strong acidity and strong tannins. It’s also planted in California, where they also make a Portwine of it.

When I was in Turin last October, for Slow Food fair, Salone del Gusto, I finally tasted my first Grignolino, one of Cascina Tavijn. Maybe not the perfect circumstances for tasting, end of the day, tired, in a hurry , but the wine really surprised and amazed me.

In the beginning it seemed a rather  light,  red wine, but it turned out to be very spicy, refreshing, due to a pleasant acidity and ended with a surprising tannic structure. The only thing I could think of, was more..more and more..very interesting.

Well after this weekend, I’ll think I’ll know a lot more on grignolino grape variety and the wines.Thanks to Twitter,  I was invited to attend a tasting in Portocomaro (near Asti, Piemonte), #grignolino1, which will take place March 12.

This event is organized by @Enofaber, Fabrizio Gallino, a real grignolino lover and great Italian wine blogger. Ten producers of grignolino, will attend the tasting and let us taste their wines, old vintages and samples from the vask.

Afterwards,  there will be a seven-course Piemonte  lunch, so that we can taste the wines with the food and can have a chat with old and new Twitterfriends.

Ofcourse I’ll keep you posted on this tasting I’m really looking forward to!

picture: www.gigibianco.it

www.enofaber.com

www.cascinatavijn.it

Leave a Reply

